Follow

How to add users to SightGlass

Summary

The Orchestrated User Portal is an administrative portal to manage the access levels of your team's users across the Orchestrated platform or other web-based products from Orchestra Software. This portal is directly accessed from any web browser and currently manages user access to the Orchestrated SightGlass - in the future you should be able to control iPad logins, Orchestrated licenses and user logins, and additional access levels without logging into Orchestrated directly.

Click one of the following links to quickly get to the content you need or scroll down the page to get a feel for the full capabilities of this portal.

 

Quick Links

How to Login

Navigating Around the Portal

Setting Up Users

Disabling or Updating a User's Permissions

 

How to Login

When an administrator is created for your company, they will receive an email allowing them to access their User Portal profile for the first time, including creating a password for future access. When an administrator creates a new user without administrative rights they will not have access to the User Portal as it's designed to create, edit and adjust the profile's of all company users - rights typically only performed by an admin-level individual.

In the email received by the newly-created administrator there will be the web address to access the Portal, which can be accessed from any web browser. Since each administrator manages their own password and can reset their password on their own, it relieves another administrator or even Orchestra from performing this function. 

 

Navigating Around the Portal

Once logged into the User Portal there's 3 main areas to interact:

  • Account Details in the Upper Top Right, to reset your own User Portal password or to log out

account_details.jpg

  • Refresh and Adding Users in the Top Right, covered in the Setting Up Users section below

butons.jpg

  • List of Users, the primary function of the User Portal

 

In the List of Users, admin users can view all company users in rows, showing quick details for each user like email address, level of admin rights (Admin or User), and whether the user is enabled or disabled currently (checkmark or red X).

If there's more than one page of users, there's a Search feature at the Top of the List of Users to help speed up finding a user. The search function looks over every piece of data visible from the grid, including any part of the email and first or last name.

By clicking on any user's row, the administrator can view the user's profile showing their abilities and access levels for all products tied into the User Portal. Currently, administrators will be able to set each user's role(s) for the Orchestrated SightGlass (Brand, Finance-High or Low, Production, Purchasing and Inventory, Sales, and Full - which is all roles and includes the Company Dashboard).

 

Setting Up Users

When first creating new users in the User Portal, an administrator can either manually create each new user or they can upload a spreadsheet to create many users at once.

Manual - Click the (+) icon in the Top Right and enter first and last name, a valid email address, assign one or more roles, and designate the user as an administrator or not.

add_user.jpg

Mass Import New Users - Click the Up Arrow/Upload icon in the Top Right so you can drag and drop a .csv file with the data for multiple new users. For your first upload, click Sample File to start with a template ready to be imported. Just make sure you fill in every row completely for each new user to be created. Note that Type '2' is a user level access and Type '1' is for an administrator.

mass_upload.jpg

 

Once a new user is added an email is automatically generated and sent to the address entered for the user. Until the new user has logged in and created their password, the user's email address will appear in red and a mail envelope appears on the Far Right of their row allowing for an administrator to initiate an additional welcome email.

 

Disabling or Updating a User's Permissions

Click anywhere along the row of a user to access their profile from the List of Users and the administrator can quickly and easily toggle settings, adjust assigned roles, or disable the user. Once the update has been saved the changes take effect immediately. To permanently delete a user's profile and access click the Garbage Can icon on the Far Right of their row.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments