Follow

What is the Difference Between Cancelling or Closing a Document?

Orchestrated allows the user to choose whether to “Cancel” or “Close” a document once created.   "Cancel" usually implies that the order was never processed, whereas "Close" is usually chosen if the order was partially processed (e.g. half of the items ordered were received) and will no longer be processed further.

Purchasing and Sales documents automatically closed if/when they're 100% fulfilled and copied to the next document in the process (PO > GRPO or SO > Delivery).  Production documents do not automatically close, however.

It's crucial that Orchestrated users close all documents that are no longer in use in order to clear up the "Ordered" and "Committed" columns on the item level.  Without doing so, incorrect reporting could lead to poor decision making elsewhere in the organization.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments